
How to Handle Employment Discrimination 

Who Are We? 

The South Carolina Human Affairs 

Commission is a state agency created 

in 1972.   Our purpose is to encourage 

fair treatment, eliminate and prevent 

unlawful discrimination, and foster 

mutual understanding and respect 

among all people in this state. 

Our Authorization.  Sections

1-13-10 through 1-13-110 of the S.C. 

code empower the Commission to 

look into problems of unlawful 

discrimination on the basis of race, 

color, religion, age (40 and above), 

sex.  (including pregnancy, childbirth, 

lactation, and related medical 

conditions), national origin, or 

disability. Also, the law established a 

framework for accepting and 

investigating complaints of unlawful 

discrimination. 

Do you believe that you have been 
discriminated against on the basis of race, 
color, religion, age (40 and above), sex 
(including pregnancy, childbirth, lactation, 
and related medical conditions), national 
origin, or disability?  Then you have a 
right to file a complaint. 

The following are important Questions and 

Answers. 

1. When do I file a complaint?  If 
you feel that you have been discriminated 
against based on race, religion, age (40 and 
above),  sex (including pregnancy, 
childbirth, lactation, or related medical 
condition), national origin, disability, then 
you should file a claim.

2. Is there a time limit?  Yes. You 
have up to 180 days from the date of the 
discriminatory act to file with the South 
Carolina Human Affairs Commission. In 
addition, you may still file if more than 180 
days but less than 300 days have passed. 
Your complaint would then be waived to 
the U. S. Equal Employment Opportunity 
Commission (EEOC) for  processing.

3. How do I file a claim? Write us or 
come into the office and talk with one of 
the Intake Investigators. He/she will be 
able to explain what we do and help to 
determine if you have a basis for filing a 
complaint. He/she will give you forms to 
complete and return.

4. What happens next?  Once the

Intake and Referral Division receives

your information, it will be reviewed to

determine if you have a basis for filing a

discrimination complaint under the S. C.

Human Affairs Law, as amended; Title

VII of the U. S. Civil Rights Act of

1964, as amended; Age Discrimination

in Employment Act of 1967, as

amended; or the Americans with

Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended.

If a basis exists, a formal Charge of 

Discrimination will be prepared for you 

to sign, notarize, and return to this 

office. Upon receipt of your complaint, 

it will be assigned a charge number, 

dual filed with EEOC, and served on the 

party you are filing against. Your charge 

will be assigned either to mediation, 

investigation, or waived to EEOC. 

5. How long does this process

take?  That really depends on the

complexity of the complaint, the

availability and cooperation of the

parties, and the caseload of the

investigator. The average  processing

time ranges              from 90 to 180

days.

Potential clients are welcomed to 

contact the South Carolina Human 

Affairs Commission as they deem 

necessary. 

Visitors are received by appointment 

or as walk-ins. 
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Are You Being 

Discriminated Against?

The South Carolina Human Affairs 

Commission is a state government agency 

that enforces the South Carolina Human 

Affairs Law.  If you think you have been 

discriminated against in employment, you 

should contact the Commission. The 

Commission will investigate your 

complaint to see if the law has been 

violated.  If there is a violation, the 

Commission can help get legal remedies to 

which you may be entitled. 

How to File A Complaint 

If you feel you have been discriminated 

against because of  race, color, religion, age 

(40 and above), sex, national origin, or 

disability; or if you feel you are being 

sexually harassed on your job; or if you feel 

your employer is treating you unfairly 

because of pregnancy, the South Carolina 

Human Affairs Commission is here to help.  

We are here to help. 

HOW TO CONTACT 

THE COMMISSION 

You may call: 

(803) 737-7800

Toll Free: 1-800-521-0725 (in state) 

TDD:   (803) 253-4125 

Fax:  (803) 253-4191 

Monday through Friday 

from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

Web Address: 

www.schac.sc.gov 

E-mail Address:

Information@schac.state.sc.us 

Our Address is: 

South Carolina  

Human Affairs Commission 

1026 Sumter Street, Suite 101 

Columbia, SC  29201 

http://www.schac.sc.gov/
mailto:Infomration@schac.state.sc.us



